Guest Reviews

Check out below what guests who’ve booked their Kumano Kodo pilgrimage walk through Hiking Trails have said about the walk and their experiences with us. We’re proud of what we do, and we appreciate our guests and their trust and reviews!

Amazing Outdoor Japanese Experience

5.0 rating
April 16, 2020

A huge thanks to Hiking Trails for organising our Kumano Kodo hike for my partner and I. Being from a small town in New Zealand, then travelling to Japan was somewhat overwhelming for the two of us, but the itinerary we were given from Nick and his team helped to make our journey stress free. The hiking was unreal, with amazing views throughout (it even snowing during one of the days). What really made the trip though was being able to really experience Japanese culture, from the unique accommodation, the authentic food and the local people we were able to meet on the way, which wouldn’t have been possible without these guys, once again, thanks you!!

Matt & Solita

True Japanese experience

5.0 rating
January 17, 2020

Nick at Hiking Trails needs to be congratulated for organising our self-guided Kumano Kodo hike and experience! From the moment we arrived at Kii Tanabe and briefed by a very professional young lady at the information centre (all organised by Nick!) to every single place we stayed along the way which were brilliantly chosen. The owners of the lovely Japanese minshuku accommodation were very, very friendly and all presented us with incredible & delicious authentic Japanese suppers, breakfasts & lunches to take with us on our next days trek. The hike was very enjoyable and gave us the true Japanese experience we were looking for. We would highly recommend Hiking Trails and Nick to anyone looking for a self guided adventure trek.

Amanda & Martin Moore

Kumano Kodo

4.0 rating
November 15, 2019

I had a terrific time on my walk. Nick from Hiking Trails organised my trip promptly, securing good accom. He was also really quick at replying to any questions, which was great. The walk itself is amazing – beautiful scenery, delightful hosts, and the evening meals were amazing. Highly recommended.

Sarah Rickard

Incredibly helpful and well organised Kumano Kodo trail booking service

5.0 rating
October 9, 2019

My brother and I just returned from completing the Kumano Kodo Nakahechi route. Nick at Hiking Trails was so helpful and responsive with our booking. Despite giving him a short timeframe to organise accommodation along the trail, as well as last minute changes on our part, Nick was so efficient and came through for us. All queries were answered and we felt confident prior to setting out from Australia. Actually, throughout the trail, all our expectations were exceeded, starting with the briefing on arrival, the written information, personalised maps and itineraries provided and the quality of the minshukus and the food along the trail. What’s more, Hiking Trails was very competitively priced. But, most importantly, the serenity we experienced while traversing the Kumano Kodo, with all its natural beauty and spirituality, was unforgettable. Thanks Nick for helping hiking the Kumano a reality for us.

Ruwanthie Fernando

See a different side of Japan from the mega cities .

5.0 rating
October 9, 2019

One of the main highlights for me was the difference between the big cities and the countryside we walked through . Small hamlets with market gardens and home grown produce for sale and served for dinner at our accomodation . It was an immersive experience which we thoroughly enjoyed .

jean

Totally Worth It Japanese Experience

5.0 rating
August 19, 2019

We loved it. This was a well organised,cultural experience that had friendly and welcoming people from start to finish and that included the booking process too. The walk was an enjoyable country walk through the hills with spectacular scenery and great rest spots at the end of each day. Thanks Hiking Trails we’re now looking at out next outdoor adventure for next year.

Deb and Tim Hardiman

Highlights of 5 day Kumano kodo. It’s really about the locals

4.0 rating
August 16, 2019

First time to experience Japan nature, people and culture . The 5 day hiking the kumano Kodo trail enable us to experience the beautiful natural scenery of Kii Penisula and end the day at a quest house with hot bath and delicious meals . There was a variety of homestays but all had something unique to offer. Friendly and helpful folk . food healthy , locally produced and freshly prepared . Felt well cared for and ready to face the next days walk with having a fantastic breakfast and a lunch box to go
The trip was well organised and we could just walk on and enjoy each day and look forward to the evening to come.

Annett Hallaran

Green, green, green!

5.0 rating
July 13, 2019

As a trio we recently completed the five day Kumano Kodo. Nick planned a brilliant six days for us and nothing was left to chance. It was exceptional from the get-go and an amazing experience. The landscape was green, green, green! We were immersed in the clouds, the forest, the water; an abundance of breathtaking vistas. It was demanding but achievable – we. Walked the entire route in changing weather. The hospitality and kindness we received (and the fantastic food) was very special. Thank you Nick!

Toni E. Meath

Family trek

5.0 rating
July 11, 2019

We wanted to trek Kumano Kodo with our 4 children but found the cost prohibitive. Nick helped us out in getting the best value possible and we did not have to compromise on anything.
Beautiful scenery and great Japanese hospitality.

Leesa

Adventures on the trails

5.0 rating
June 28, 2019

Trekking the Kumano Kodo was a brilliant experience. We jammed it all into just a 7 day trip away (5 days on the trails). Having Hiking Trails organise it for us meant all we had to do was show up and get walking. The itinerary was perfect for us (mother and son duo) and following the guide and maps was simple. The accommodation that was booked for us was lovely and the hosts so welcoming and hospitable. Would definitely recommend Hiking Trails to assist with managing and booking your trip.

Kerryn and Ethan

Carefree hiking in a beautiful environment

5.0 rating
May 5, 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our days hiking Komano Kodo. Loved the different Minshuku experiences, the food, and the challenges and rewards of the hike. Thanks Nick for arranging accommodation, baggage transfer and pre-hike briefing in Tanabe. Totally stress free, letting us focus on the wonder of each day. We couldn’t ask for a smoother, better organised experience.

Deb and Philip

All you had to do was walk… Everything else taken care of!

5.0 rating
April 29, 2019

You arrive after a day of walking to where you are staying.. To be greeted by a smiling face offering you tea. You are shown around their guest house and told relax, have an onsen dinner will be ready at 6pm. You feel so relaxed after a day walking through kii the Mountains. Everything was organised so well, we didnt have to think at all just walk, eat, sleep repeat!

Yasmin and Ben

A stress free and serine immersion in nature

5.0 rating
March 3, 2019

Luggage service was amazing. Didn’t have to worry about food, so we could just enjoy more time exploring the local towns and meeting the people there. All the accommodation organisation was seamless and stress-free, Nick took care of it all. The maps, itinerary, bus times, guidebook, all this was super simple and invaluable when traveling in another country. The Kumano Kodo walk was just breathtaking. We’d love to do it again!

Kieren and Megan

The reviews featured on Hiking Trails have been completed by genuine guests who’ve booked their Kumano Kodo pilgrimage walk via Hiking Trails. Any questions, sing out?